Comic Book Process

  • I’m currently working on a short comic book story.  Here’s the process I use, as hinted at in my previous post.
  • First, I do a very small thumbnail.  I’ve included that below.  I’ve blown up the drawing here;  the actual size is about 2″ x 2.5″.  This is done very quickly.  It’s a bit like visual brainstorming.
  • comic-thumbnail-small.jpg
  • Next–using the thumbnail as a reference–I do another layout.  This one is the size of the printed comic book page, about 6″ x 10″.  This gives me an idea as to how the page will look when printed.  I might indicate a few more blacks, and I try to stay loose. 
  • comic-layout.jpg
  • I then take the 6″ x 10″ layout, scan it and then print it out the size of comic book original art.  That size is about 10″ x 15″.  I tape this large layout on a lightbox, and use that as my guide for the pencils.
  • I’m currently working on this page.  When I’m done, I’ll post it–perhaps as early as tomorrow.
  • –P.
3 Responses to “Comic Book Process”

  1. J Limke Says:

    Very cool, Peter. Looks familiar 🙂

  2. tanaudel Says:

    This is really interesting – I like to see how people work up to finished pieces.

  3. peterkrause Says:

    J:

    It should! You wrote it!

    Tanaudel:

    Thanks for the comment. I should have the finished page up in my next post.

    –P.

Leave a Reply

