Robert Fawcett, illustrator

If you are a fan of illustration, you probably know of Robert Fawcett. For my money, he was the best during the classic era of illustration–when popular magazines such as Look and Colliers featured illustration on their covers and throughout.

His work was spot on, yet never stiff or overly formal. Looking closely at his drawings, the brushstrokes take on a wonderful abstract quality.

I’ve quickly sketched a couple of figures from one of Fawcett’s drawings. I believe you can learn much from doing copies from such wonderful work.

-P.
sketch-after-fawcett.jpg

7 Responses to “Robert Fawcett, illustrator”

  1. Robert Mileham Says:

    Most impressive. I was trying to find some better examples of Fawcett’s work than the rather disapointing one Chris Miller has posted on his blog at http://mountshang.blogspot.com/

  2. peterkrause Says:

    Robert:

    Mind you, these are my pencil copies of Fawcett’s work.

    If you are looking for more of Fawcett’s work, you might try to find a copy of his book “On The Art Of Drawing”. Although out of print, I was able to find a beautiful copy through alibris.com for less than $20!

    Also, Illustration magazine, issue #9 had a nice article on Fawcett. Again, I believe this is out of print, but with some persistence you may locate one.

    Another place to find Fawcett’s work is through the Famous Artist’s course books. They actually look more like loose-leaf binders, and while again these are out of print, used bookstores may have copies. Fawcett was one of the founders of the Famous Artist’s course.

    -P.

  3. Allyson Says:

    I have a print ?? that has the name Robert Fawcett at the top. It has about a dozen images of golfers in actions. Thank you for your help.

  4. Mike Vosburg Says:

    Peter,

    don’t know if you’ve ever checked out my website, but I have a lengthy
    section on Fawcett with a lot of his illustration. As well as owning 15-20
    of his originals, I have a huge collection of his tearsheets.

    http://vozart.com/FamousArtists.html

    Best,

    Mike Vosburg

  5. peterkrause Says:

    Mike,

    Thanks for checking in on my humble blog.

    Of course, I’m insanely jealous that you own Fawcett originals.

    Thanks for the link to your website.

    –P.

  6. greg malloy Says:

    dear peter…thank you for reminding me how lucky i am to own an original robert fawcett, and a copy of the ‘Famous Artist Course’ i am an artist/waiter/handyman, that lives month to month…so every once in a while i look to see if i should sell my original rf to fund my own artistic quest and then i stumble on to a web sight like yours, that remind my how luucky i am, as an artist, to have such a piece of american art history by such a talented artist …thank you, greg

    p.s. i do like your daily sketch too.

  7. Handyman in Jacksonville Says:

    Your post is very well crafted and I have learned. Iíve added your blog to my reading material. Thanks for the update!

Leave a Reply

